‘Cursed’ Season 1: Netflix Release Time & Everything You Need To Know

Cursed – Copyright. Netflix

Netflix has made its intentions clear that they want to create epic fantasy-dramas that can be loved by subscribers worldwide. Cursed is its next big fantasy series that’s coming to Netflix on July 17th, 2020 and we’ve got everything you need to know ahead of its Netflix release.

Cursed is an upcoming Netflix Original series based on the illustrated YA novel of the same name by Tom Wheeler. Illustrations were drawn by Frank Miller. Both serve as the writers of the Netflix series and will also serve as executive producers. Directing duties have been split amongst three directors, Jon East (Killing Eve), Zetna Fuentes (One Life to Live), Daniel Netthiem (The Hunter).


What time will Cursed season 1 be on Netflix?

As per all Netflix Originals, the series is arriving at midnight in Los Angeles on July 16th, 2020. Just in case you’re not living on the West Coast, we’ve got our trusty table of every Netflix region below. You can find out your timezone and how to convert the times below here.

Time Zone Time available to stream
Pacific Standard Time 12:00 AM (GMT-7)
Mountain Standard Time 1:00 AM (GMT-6)
Central Standard Time 2:00 AM (GMT-5)
Eastern Standard Time 3:00 AM (GMT-4)
British Daylight Savings Time 08:00 AM (GMT)
Central European Time 08:00 AM (GMT+1)
Eastern European Time 09:00 AM (GMT+2)
India Standard Time 12:30 PM (GMT+5:30)
Japan Standard Time 16:00 PM (GMT+9)
Australian Eastern Time 18:00 PM (GMT+11)
New Zealand Day Light Time 20:00 PM (GMT+13)

How are the reviews for Cursed on Netflix?

There are currently 0 reviews up as the series was not offered to journalists and critics in advance of its Netflix release. Whether that’s a positive for the series or a negative is down to you.


When is the Netflix release date for Cursed?

It has finally been confirmed that Cursed season 1 will be coming to Netflix on July 17th, 2020.

We’ve known for almost a month that the release date could be July 17th, after a fan account helped leak the release date.

After reaching out for more details, the release date was revealed by the Spanish Cosmopolitan.

We previously reported that Cursed would be coming to Netflix in the Spring of 2020 after online suppliers had quoted a Spring 2020 release date on the advertisement of the book for the series adaptation.

Cursed is available for pre-order on Amazon and various online stores


What is the plot of Cursed?

The series is told through the eyes of Nimue, a young rebellious teenage heroine whose destiny lies in helping Arthur, a young mercenary to ascend to the throne of Camelot. After the death of her mother, Nimue enlists the help Arthur on her quest to deliver an ancient and powerful sword to Merlin the Wizard.

Pictured: Katherine Langford – Copyright. Netflix


Who stars in Cursed?

Confirmed cast members with roles are as follows:

Role Cast Member Where Have I Seen Heard Them Before?
Nimue Katherine Langford Love, Simon | 13 Reasons Why | Knives Out
King Arthur Devon Turell Barry | Ophelia | The Professor
Merlin Gustaf Skarsgard Vikings | Westworld | The Way Back
Rugen The Leper King Ólafur Darri Ólafsson Murder Mystery | Trapped | The Meg
Cumber the Ice King Jóhannes Haukur Jóhannesson Alpha | Atomic Blonde | Game of Thrones
Red Spear Bella Dayne Troy: Fall of a City | Sex, Guaranteed | Plebs
Bu’Luf Perry Fitzpatrick This Is England ’86 | All the Devil’s Men | Weekender
Gawain Matt Stokoe Bodyguard | Jamestown | Misfits
Isma Natasha Culzac Men in Black: International | The Strangers |
Josse Tobi King Bakare Temple
Yeva Olwen Fouéré The Survivalist | Mandy | This Must Be the Place
Druna Jennifer Saayeng Summer of Rockets | Vera | Emerald City

Cast Members with unconfirmed roles are as follows:

Role Cast Member Where Have I Seen Heard Them Before?
TBA Sebastian Armesto Harlots | Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides | Marie Antoinette
TBA Shalom Brune-Franklin The State | Bad Mothers | Our Girl
TBA Emily Coates Flack | Warren | Ackley Bridge
TBA Billy Jenkins The Crown | Holmes & Watson | Humans
TBA Peter Mullen Ozark | Tyrannosaur | The Magdalene Sisters
TBA Lily Newmark Pin Cushion | Juliet, Naked | Sex Education
TBA Daniel Sharman Immortals | The Collection | Teen Wolf
TBA Catherine Walker A Dark Song | Leap Year | Patrick’s Day
TBA Adaku Ononogbo Jessica Jones | Dietland | Shankman’s

 


So Cursed is based on a comic book?

It’s an Illustrated YA Novel and not a comic book. Frank Miller and author Tom Wheeler collaborated on the project together to tell the story of King Arthur from the point of view of the Lady of the Lake.

The comic was released on October 1st, 2019. The second image was meant to be the first cover but this has now been changed to orange cover on the left below.


Behind the scenes of Cursed

There have been plenty of behind the scenes photos of Cursed.


Production history for Cursed season 1 on Netflix

Filming concluded by the end of September 2019 and had been ongoing since March 2019.

Multiple locations were used throughout filming, including Frensham Little Pond in Frensham, Albury Park in Surrey, Bradford-on-Avon, and Clearwell Caves in the Forest of Dean. These locations are all in the United Kingdom.

Once the series completed filming (and no doubt throughout) the VFX team then took control of the project. Double Negative is behind the VFX for the series who is currently working on The Matrix 4 and Netflix’s upcoming sci-fi series, Away. They’ve also worked on Tenet, Jumanji, Men in Black, Avengers: Endgame and Godzilla.

Pictured: Gustaf Skarsgård – Copyright. Netflix


How many episodes will Cursed debut?

It has been confirmed that Cursed will air ten episodes for the first season. This is the typical amount of episodes of Netflix orders for its Originals.

What are the episode run times?

There’s no confirmation on the run times for episodes of Cursed. It’s a safe bet each episode will be roughly fifty to sixty minutes long.

Pictured: Katherine Langford (left) and Devon Terrell (right) – Copyright. Netflix

Episode titles

The episode titles for Cursed have been revealed, we now also know which order the episodes are being released in:

Episode Title Written By
1 Alone Janet Lin
2 Bring Us in Good Ale Tom Wheeler
3 Cursed Tom Wheeler
4 Festa and Moreli William Wheeler
5 Nimue Tom Wheeler
6 Poisons Tom Wheeler
7 Queen of the Fey Robbie Thompson
8 The Joining Leila Gerstein
9 The Red Lake Rachel Shukert
10 The Sacrifice Tom Wheeler

Will Cursed be available to stream in my region?

Cursed is a full Netflix Original, therefore, all regions with access to Netflix will receive the series.

Pictured: Daniel Sharman – Copyright. Netflix


Are you looking forward to the release of Cursed? Let us know in the comments below!