What's on Netflix > Coming Soon > Netflix Spring 2017 Preview

Netflix Spring 2017 Preview

Welcome to your Spring 2017 guide to what’s coming to Netflix across the globe during the Spring. It’ll cover the months of April, May and June. We’ll be covering all the major Netflix Originals that we know, plus the release dates of any Disney, The CW and any other titles we know about that are coming from April 1st, 2017 to June 21st, 2017 (yes, we know Spring starts on March 20th!)

Netflix Originals Spring Preview 2017

April 2017

April 2017 has a lot of Netflix Original debuts in store with us but we’ll start with a few returning series first. First up, the second half of the first season for The Get Down will be coming back. The music drama set in the 70’s has bags of style and we can’t wait to see how Baz Luhrmann (the series creator) wraps up the first season.

A very long awaited return of Mystery Science Theater will be making its way to Netflix in April thanks to a successful crowd-funding campaign. Complete with new and old faces, we can’t wait to see what they’ve done with the show. Another new series is the adaptation of the Girl Boss autobiography which sees the rise of a multi-million dollar franchise selling vintage clothes.

Other Netflix Originals to look out for in April:

  • Louis CK – Standup Special (April 4th)
  • Chewing Gum – Season 2 (April 4th)
  • Bill Nye Saves the World – Season 1 (April 21st)
  • Sand Castle – Movie (April 21st)
  • Dear White People (April 28th)

For a full preview of what’s coming to Netflix visit our coming soon preview or if you’re in the United Kingdom, we’ve done a preview just for yours here.

May 2017

Three massive returning Netflix Original series is going to make May a fantastic month for originals. First up and shortly after it’s Christmas special, we will finally be getting the second full season of Sense8 (May 5th). The sci-fi series has gone through a few changes, but the Christmas special gave us hope that the show is still infinitely watchable.

Next up, Ellie Kemper is reprising her role for the third time as Kimmy Schmidt, and her past is creeping back into her present with the Reverend back. Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt season 3 will be on Netflix May 19th. Finally, all hell is breaking lose in the White House for House of Cards season 5 (May 30th).

Other Netflix Originals to look out for in May:

  • War Machine (Brad Pitt Movie) – May 26th
  • Anne (Season 1) – May 12th
  • Get Me Roger Stone (Documentary) – May 12th

A full roundup of Netflix Originals coming in May will release sometime next week here on What’s on Netflix.

June 2017

Netflix has only announced a few originals for June so far but don’t worry, they’re going to be great. First of is everyone’s favorite Orange is the New Black back for its fifth season! Litchfield is in disarray and a full blown riot is about to take place but one important question has to be answered. Does she pull the trigger? We’ll find out on June 9th.

GLOW is our second highlight of the month scheduled to land on June 23rd. It comes from the creator of Orange is the New Black and is centered around 1980’s female wrestling and stars Alison Brie.


Disney Movies Coming Spring 2017

Note: This is for the United States only. Canada gets new Disney releases but dates will differ from below.

Queen of Katwe

Release Date: April 25th

Of the three Disney releases, Queen of Katwe is by far the most different. It’s a live action movie about a girl who uses chess to escape the everyday struggles of growing up in an impoverished country. The movie first released on 21st October 2016.

Marvel’s Doctor Strange

Expected May 2017

The second Marvel movie to come to Netflix as part of the new Disney deal looks to be Doctor Strange. The movie which offers and introduction to the Doctor played by Benedict Cumberbatch has some of the most impressive visuals you’ll ever see in a Marvel movie and gives hints about how he ties into the MCU in the future.

Moana

Expected June 2017

The biggest Disney hit since Frozen? That’s what many people are saying about Moana and if you didn’t manage to catch it in the cinema last November, then it’ll likely come to Netflix within the next three months.

We haven’t included Star Wars: Rogue One because our predictor says it’s most likely going to release in July/August 2017 but it could be pushed forward. 


The CW Shows Coming to Netflix Spring 2017

Note: This is for the United States only. 

Arrow, Supergirl, Riverdale – Copyright The CW

A massive dump of the latest CW shows will be coming to Netflix over the next three months including big superhero shows, comedies and some brand new shows too. This is all thanks to a brand new deal struck last year bringing new seasons to Netflix a week or so after they wrap up on The CW.

  • The 100 Season 3 – May/June 2017
  • Arrow Season 5 – June 2017
  • DC Legends of Tomorrow – April 12th
  • The Flash Season 3 – May/June 2017
  • Jane the Virgin Season 3 – May 2017/June 2017
  • Regin Season 4 – May 2017
  • Riverdale Season 1 – May 2017
  • Supergirl Season 2 – April/May 2017
  • Supernatural Season 12 – May/June 2017

For more on the full CW shows coming to Netflix lineup visit our preview.


Weekly Episodes Coming to Netflix in Spring 2017

Note: This mainly covers Netflix United Kingdom but could include your region, check your Netflix for more information.

Netflix UK will continue getting new episodes of various different shows usually a day after they air in the US. Here are the shows to expect to continue or start on this schedule.

  • Better Call Saul – New Episodes Tuesdays – April 11th to 13th June
  • Designated Survivor – New Episodes Thursdays – March 10th to May 11th
  • iZombie Season 3 – New Episodes Wednesdays – April 5th to June 28th
  • Once Upon A Time Season 6 – New Episodes Wednesdays – March 8th to May 10th
  • Riverdale Season 1 – New Episodes Friday – January 27th to May 5th
  • Reign Season 4 – New Episodes Saturdays – February 12th to April 22nd
  • RuPaul’s Drag Race Season 9 – New Episodes Saturdays – March 25th to May 27th

We hope that gives you a good indication as to what’s coming to Netflix where you are in the world. As always, keep an eye out on our Coming Soon section where we give you everything you need to know about what’s coming to Netflix.

Also on What's on Netflix
This is an unofficial Netflix fansite. To request titles to Netflix visit the official Netflix support center.